How to Find Out Who You Really Are

I came across this really great article on Oprah’s page and wanted to share it. I actually couldn’t help clicking on the title – How to Find Out Who You Really Are. I find myself asking questions pertaining to this everyday…What do I want to be when I grow up (I’m 26 but convinced I will wake up asking myself this everyday until I’m 90).

“We begin to find and become ourselves when we notice how we are already found, already truly, entirely, wildly, messily, marvelously who we were born to be. The only problem is that there is also so much other stuff, typically fixations with how people perceive us, how to get more of the things that we think will make us happy, and with keeping our weight down. So the real issue is how do we gently stop being who we aren’t? How do we relieve ourselves of the false fronts of people-pleasing and affectation, the obsessive need for power and security, the backpack of old pain, and the psychic Spanx that keeps us smaller and contained?

Here’s how I became myself: mess, failure, mistakes, disappointments, and extensive reading; limbo, indecision, setbacks, addiction, public embarrassment, and endless conversations with my best women friends; the loss of people without whom I could not live, the loss of pets that left me reeling, dizzying betrayals but much greater loyalty, and overall, choosing as my motto William Blake’s line that we are here to learn to endure the beams of love.”

Read the full article by Anne Lamott, here: http://www.oprah.com/spirit/How-To-Find-Out-Who-You-Really-Are-by-Anne-Lamott

I just love this. I think it’s really important to take a situation you weren’t particularly pleased with yourself in – whether you were gossiping about someone, or had a bad temper or reaction, drank too much, etc. and to reflect and decide that that is not the person you want to be – and make a point to be who you really are from there on out.

Whether you are 10, 18, 20 something, 30 something, in your 40’s or 50’s retired, or still working – I think it’s always important to step back and ask “Do I love what I do?” “Am I doing what makes me happy?”  If the answer is no, work to change that. Life is just too short to waste one moment – even relating to making a living.  And I know this article wasn’t just about work, but it is a HUGE part of life and I think plays a very big part of Who we REALLY are. And I think that is a huge reason why my sister and I started Sailor Sisters!

Hope you enjoy – just a nice read I wanted to share 🙂 I’m sure everyone will take something different away from it!

Cheers!

Chrissy

One response to “How to Find Out Who You Really Are

  1. In the grand scheme of things we all need to take a step back and realize the true meaning of our life. “We cannot control the wind but we have the power to adjust our sails” unknown

Leave a Reply

