Sunday Morning Pancakes

There is nothing like a Sunday morning at home with the sun filling the house, good tunes playing and sweet smells of home cooking wafting from the kitchen.

As a child, this meant waking up to the smell of bacon and the sound of my dad playing classic rock and banging around in the kitchen. As a newlywed, this means enjoying some quality time in the kitchen, playing my favorite tunes while my husband comes in and out from yard work and my dog soaks in the sun coming in from the doorway by the kitchen (seemingly resting peacefully yet always ready to spring into action in the event I drop something!)dog in door

What are your favorite Sunday mornings like?!

Here is My version of Sunday morning pancakes at home with my husband and dog!

prepping the panckakes

Whole Wheat Pancakes = a nice healthy touch while giving some great flavor!
aunt jemima

I had to balance out the healthy part with some CHOCOLATE of course :)

I got really excited when I realized I had an entire package of Dove Chocolate bars stashed up for a summer full of SMORES that still hadn’t been used!cookie pancake

The finished result!

I added one more healthy touch with pineapple to garnish the plate!

a well balanced breakfastTim sat down at the counter, looked at his plate then back at me and asked so seriously: “We are having cookies for breakfast?” hahaha

husband enjoying breakfast

One Happy Husband!

Happy Sunday Morning!

7 responses to “Sunday Morning Pancakes

      • Here ya go! Let me know how you both enjoy them. It makes 8 medium-ish sized buckwheat pancakes.
        1/2 cup whole wheat flour
        1/2 cup buckwheat flour
        1 TBS brown sugar
        1/4 tsp salt
        2 tsp baking powder
        1 beaten egg
        1 cup milk
        2 TBS veg oil
        Mix the dry ingredients, combine with the liquid ingredients and mix, but don’t overmix. Sometimes it’s good to let pancake batter sit for a while to make them fluffier. Sometimes I add thinly sliced bananas, strawberries, or other berries, but they taste so good you don’t really need to add anything. Cook them on the griddle just like any other pancake and enjoy!

  1. Pingback: A Chocolate Hazelnut Cookie Kind of Day: I bought the play kitchen | Stroller City·

Leave a Reply

